A place to discuss hardware/software and diagnostic procedures

I cant stop myself.. do I have a problem..

More
5 years 6 months ago #23734 by ShaoLin68
Hey guys and gals,

I am a DIY mechanic who is self taught.. I am also a recovering "parts cannon loader".. Before I found Paul's channel, I would get the code, replace the part the code said was bad, and pray for the best.. if it didnt work, it took everything in me not to throw a torque wrench, or nearest heavy object through the windshield.. lol..

but I am not a person who can just change one part.. if my crank sensor is bad, i will replace both crank and camshaft.. if one O2 is bad, I will replace both.. if one spark plug is bad, I will change them all.. you see my problem... lol..

I have access to a shop that has cars I wish to go work on.. mostly because the owner believes it cant be fixed.. armed with a gently used modis, and a hantek o-scope, laptop, and Paul's techniques, I want to learn how to really BE a technician.. not just a parts changer.. now I am going to find out exactly what is wrong with the car.. then I am ONLY going to tell the shop what I have found, and let the shop owner decide..

what do you think? or am I overreacting..

Thanks for the input..
Shawn

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 6 months ago #23735 by Tyler

ShaoLin68 wrote: but I am not a person who can just change one part.. if my crank sensor is bad, i will replace both crank and camshaft.. if one O2 is bad, I will replace both.. if one spark plug is bad, I will change them all.. you see my problem... lol.