A place to discuss hardware/software and diagnostic procedures

SRS Crash Data EEPROM reflashing

More
6 years 2 months ago #17470 by wtrapp1979
Hello Everyone!
So I have been doing mobile diagnostics for about 3 months now. I finally quit my day job and went into business for myself. I find it funny considering I too am an automotive instructor that does freelance mobile diagnostics like Paul. Anyway, I service about a half dozen of vehicle re-builders that have been very good to me. I do most of their key coding, reflashing, and CAN diagnostics they don't have the equipment of know-how to do. I was asked today about clearing crash data out of airbag control units. Whenever airbags are deployed late model airbag control units store data and can not be reset by even the factory scantool. Ther are a variety of sources my rebuilders use to send out and have this done. I have been looking into purchasing equipment to do this, but find it to be a very vague subject. I took a chance tonight and ordered a "carprog" eprom flashing tool. It was pretty inexpensive, but looks like it will covers a lot. Eprom flashing is pretty simple and isn't a big deal. the difficulty seems to be in finding a database with current good clean flashes. Has anyone gotten into this? Any info would be great to discuss.

Thanks,
William Trapp

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 2 months ago #17487 by Andy.MacFadyen
The guys that do this kind of work are like a secret society they tend not share.

" We're trying to plug a hole in the universe, what are you doing ?. "
(Walter Bishop Fringe TV show)

More
5 years 2 weeks ago #28425 by Broskisgarage