A place to discuss hardware/software and diagnostic procedures

O2sensor Surprising voltage.

More
6 years 9 months ago #11212 by Mathis
Hello forum. I'm quite new in electronics diagnostics and have been following Paul for a year, and today I made my first field job a p0420 on a hyandai Santa Fe,
The money lamp had been lit but went out. The car had not passed inspection due to the fault code in the system.

Now to my question, When I connected the scanner and looked at the sensors they had a scale of 0-800 mv and switched in that area and the rear sensor was in the upper range
But the scanner was so slow so I could not trust it when I added propane so I connected the scope instead and then it became bizarr because with the engine of i red 0 volts at the signal... key on engine of 5volt,... and when the engine ran it switched between 1.8 and 3.5 volts.

it hold rich about 8 sek after the propanetest so i just cleared the code and shipped the car. btw the emissions from the inspection was perfect so i saved about a 1000 dollar to the costumer. It only faild due to the faultcode

I dont understand the sensor, it was´nt a wideband, it was 4 wire and 4 color, black, white blue and orange or yellow i think.

peace.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 9 months ago #11234 by Mathis
Replied by Mathis on topic O2sensor Surprising voltage.
Today the bizarrenes continued with the Santa Fe.

We went to the inspection and it went well and when we got home and I wanted to take a second look at the o2 sensors
so I used brake cleaner to force it rich and what happens?

The sensors dive to LEAN and the fuel trims gets maxed out RICH, the fuel trims stayed rich and the o2 sensors stayed lean about 30 seconds despite that i had removed the brakecleaner, i had to rew the engine to get the traces normal again.

When I introduce the brake cleaner again, the o2 sensors took a dive aaagain but this time the fueltrims took fuel away.