A place to discuss hardware/software and diagnostic procedures

thoughts on Foxwell bidirectional units

More
4 months 2 weeks ago - 4 months 2 weeks ago #63868 by 11Andrew11
I bought the book a month ago and have been reading and learning.  I'm just a hobby mechanic, but I love troubleshooting and wanted to learn more about OBDII.  My wife has a 2009 BMW 328i Couple (e92) and one of the TPMS sensors in the wheel seems to be down, so I will need to replace and have the car learn the new TPMS sensor. My buddy has a tire changer machine so I can do the work myself.  I had gotten by on a cheap OBDII scanner until this point.

I bought a Foxwell NT710 earlier this week for its bidirectional capability, which is coming in the mail in two days.  It has a 14 day return period.  It was $249 and includes software for one brand.  In my case it's BMW/Mini/Rolls Royce.  Additional software for other brands is $60-$80 each.  My Dodge diesel is pre-OBDII and we have no other car. 

I just joined the forum this morning after lurking for a few days.  I'd like to know whether anyone has an opinion on these Foxwell units.

thanks

"One learns by doing."
Last edit: 4 months 2 weeks ago by 11Andrew11. Reason: typos

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Noah
  • Give code definitions with numbers!
More
4 months 2 weeks ago #63881 by Noah
Andrew, let us know if it handles the TPMS sensor.
I've been wrenching for many years and never touched one, lol.
Always send them to the tire shop.

"Ground cannot be checked with a 10mm socket"

More
4 months 2 weeks ago #63882 by 11Andrew11
Thanks Noah, I will. 

So, how did you make your discovery about checking ground with a 10mm socket?

"One learns by doing."

• Noah
  • Give code definitions with numbers!
More
4 months 2 weeks ago #63892 by Noah
The way one learns, by doing ;)

"Ground cannot be checked with a 10mm socket"

More
4 months 5 days ago - 4 months 5 days ago #63971 by 11Andrew11