A place to discuss hardware/software and diagnostic procedures

Re:First scope captures

More
1 year 1 month ago #60604 by Archer
First scope captures was created by Archer
Hello everyone!

I am just starting out with the scope, so please forgive the lack of detail in this capture. It was taken with a 4-channel pico. The owners concern is that he overheated the engine and there was evidence of coolant on the dipstick

It is from a 2008 Ford Crown Vic with the 4.6 with the interceptor package. I removed cylinder #5 spark plug for a “sync” since my ignition probe needed batteries.

It looks like I have relatively lower compression on bank 1, but I wanted more seasoned eyes to take a look. I also used the WPS500 in the cooling system which was steady throughout. I did not have that channel on for this capture, though.

I appreciate the help in advance!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 1 month ago #60605 by Ben
Replied by Ben on topic Re:First scope captures
I would not remove a spark plug for a sync when doing relative compression as it throws the cranking speed out of balance(rotational speed),perform relative compression which all cylinders in tact and if you have a suspect cylinder than you have a need to id it, you can get a sync by just laying your probe wire on the coil or wrapping a wire around a spark plug wire. What were the signs of coolant on the dipstick was it just small amount of white oil high up on the dipstick? (often times on oil cap as well)(common moisture buildup in winter months). As long as his oil wasn't a milkshake and coolant didn't come out before oil (sitting in bottom of pan) than I don't think there's a worry if wps500 shows no pressure in cooling system.

Sent from my SM-G781V using Tapatalk
The following user(s) said Thank You: juergen.scholl

More
1 year 1 month ago - 1 year 1 month ago #60606 by juergen.scholl