A place to discuss hardware/software and diagnostic procedures

Help chosing a scan tool for mobile business.

More
1 year 3 months ago #59673 by Mobilemechanics
Hi all, in the market for my first big scan tool purchase. Currently using alldata scan tool and half of the stuff dosnt work on lease for $180/mo. I'm a Mobile tech so I don't have a shop but I do have internet in my vehicle. I honestly love the way Paul's scanner operates I wish my interface was as friendly. I definitely need scope operations but I'm debating between two separate systems or one combined. If I do separate it means I need to bring my computer with me along with my scan tool. It's doable if that's the best option. Originally I thought pico made a $2-300 option now I see their cheapest package starting at I think $1200 ? I think with me having little to no experience on the scope I might be better off with an advanced tool that can double as a scope maybe not as advanced as a pico but idk. Very limited experience with a scope. Any helps greatly appreciated, and if anyone knows the scan tool Paul uses in most of his videos with lead inputs for scope functions I'd like to maybe start my research there.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Noah
  • Give code definitions with numbers!
More
1 year 3 months ago #59688 by Noah
Paul uses a Verus Edge, as do I. It's a really good scanner and a pretty good scope. At least for the cars I service every day. It's also what I use to access service information via the internet.
It runs Windows 7, for which support has ended (if that's important to you).
I read somewhere that support for the Verus Edge will stop by 2025. This could be a problem depending on the cars you see. I'm thinking specifically of Chrysler brands, which require a subscription to Auto Authority, which subsequently requires a current update for the scan tool you use in order to unlock the secure gateway.