A place to discuss hardware/software and diagnostic procedures

Scanner Cycles of Misfire Data

More
1 year 8 months ago - 1 year 8 months ago #57940 by rpd14893
Hi All.

I'm new to the diagnostics world. I have been trying to diag two different vehicles. Both are higher mileage with no DTC's. One in particular has a rough idle.

While looking at the engine datastream for both, I am seeing around 100 "cycles of misfire data" on my scan tool as a data point. When I look at the stream for missfire data on each individual cylinder, the scanner shows "0".

I think the data pulled for the "cycles of misfire data" comes from the crank position sensor. But how are individual cylinders monitored by the scanner? Same sensor? If so why is a misfire showing generally but not individual cylinders?
Last edit: 1 year 8 months ago by rpd14893.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 8 months ago #57947 by juergen.scholl
Engine management computers employ different/more than one routines when watching out for misfires. They may distinguish between cat damaging misfires and no damaging ones, there may be weighted monitors averaging x number of engine cycles, there may be a different submonitor which does real time data sampling based on a different number of engine cycles and so on.

The data pid "cycles of misfires" indicates the actual number of completed engine cycles within the applicable algorithm or surveillance strategy. Look at it like a live counter showing the running progress of the routine.

THIS DATA PID IS NOT TO BE TAKEN AS MISFIRE COUNTER, IT DOES NOT SHOW MISFIRES.

The misfire data for individual cylinder actually DOES SHOW misfire events as perceived by the pcm. The (still) most common way to calculate and relate these events to individual cylinders is to look at the crank speed deviations and crank position through the eyes of the crank sensor.