Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

1998 Lexus GS400 V8 - LTFT -20% but drives totally fine

More
3 years 3 months ago - 3 years 3 months ago #45964 by Eicca
Alrighty, I've been chasing this problem for about two years now. Long term fuel trims gradually creep more and more negative after resetting the ECU. Once they reach -25 the CEL comes on, I reset the ECU, then they return to around -5% and as the weeks go on start creeping negative again.

The numbers are identical for both cylinder banks.

Car doesn't smell rich, doesn't misfire, and is currently getting the best MPG I've ever had (not saying much given it's a V8) at a combined average of 19-ish. Power feels excellent. Super smooth and tons of pull. I've had vacuum leaks and stuff and can usually tell an immediate difference with this motor. When it's healthy, it feels soooo strong, and right now it feels incredibly healthy.

MAF sensor has been cleaned several times and replaced and cleaned again with no apparent change.

O2 sensors are original, but again both banks are reporting identical numbers. It seems unlikely that they'd both fail in identical fashions, but it's not impossible I guess.

Voltage while driving fluctuates as expected.

Now here's the interesting bit, the LTFT decreases toward zero depending on throttle position. Floored, it hits -5.5%. Idle, it stays rock steady at -20% as of today. It reacts in a linear fashion with throttle input. About half throttle drops it to around -11%.

Short term trims bounce around +/- 7-ish percent as expected.