Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2001 Camry LE w/2.2 liter overheating

More
5 years 9 months ago #22132 by amstrum
Hi! This is my first time on the forum. I have done most of my own car work for many years, but have recently been trying to improve my diagnostics skills--then this (seemingly simple) issue came along and I am stumped:

I have several Camrys--this one is a 2001 LE with about 180K miles on the 2.2 liter. It began overheating while my daughter was at an internship in Florida. She took it to a shop where they put a thermostat and a radiator into it...still overheating. She drove it home (about 350 miles) with the heater turned on the whole way to keep it from overheating...

The engine was running ok, but seemed kind of loud, so I thought the worst--head gasket. But as I listened, I realized the water pump was making most if not all of noise. The timing belt was a little loose too, because of the play in the pump shaft, so I thought I had found my problem. While I had everything apart, I replaced cam, crank, and oil pump seals, oil pump gasket(there were some leaks!), timing belt, water pump, and the water pump housing. Put everything back together...and it's still overheating!

Here's what happens: It comes up to normal operating temperature, then floats up until the temperature reads about 213F, then the fans come on and cool it back down--then the whole cycle starts all over again. This is when it is just sitting idling. When driving, it never quite recovers; it stays hot, fans come on to cool it some--but not much--it creeps back up, then the fans come back on, etc.