Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

No Start with Crank Sehsor connected

More
5 years 4 months ago #25215 by alanhoyt
Infiniti M56x VIN # JN1AY1AR9BM570450
Car lot replaced the engine and could not get it started. Sets a CKP code. With the Crank Sensor unhooked it will crank for a bit and then start and run but not the best. Shuts off at around 53 mph.
I am an Automotive Technology Instructor for two high schools and my approach is to look at everything on the vehicle through current flow and scope patterns. I have looked everywhere I can think of for a scope pattern showing cam/crank and hopefully cylinder pressure waveform on this engine but I have not found any that I thought was actually correct for this 5.6. Nissan makes a 5.6 that doesn't have variable valve timing on all 4 cams but this one does and I am pretty sure the crank sensor pattern should be different as well.
Any chance you can get me the waveform?
The car lot is adamant that the engine is out of the exact year make and model plus they replaced the flywheel and ordered it by VIN from Infiniti so I am leaning towards an actual internal timing issue in the salvage yard engine but without a known good scope pattern I feel it is too intense of a diagnostic process to work through with my highschoolers.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 4 months ago #25226 by Dylan
Moved your topic to the repair section so it gets more views.

More
5 years 4 months ago #25245 by Tutti57