A place for things that don't fit into the automotive world

How to deal with a shop that doesn't support me

More
4 years 6 months ago #34446 by nathan.carpenter
I have been working for an aftermarket repair shop for 7 years now, and just last week obtained my L1 ASE and I also have A1-A8, I am currently the only person here who owns and uses a scan tool and a labscope. I find myself feeling like the black sheep and because of the other techs here our shop has gained a bad reputation for poor diagnostics and as a result we just dont see much of that kind of work.
I really feel unsupported and almost like I've wasted my time and money becoming knowledgeable about electrical and engine performance. I've been depressed lately and have been losing money due to lack of any real work. Please help me decide what path to take from here, any advice would be welcomed.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Andy.MacFadyen

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 6 months ago #34448 by nathan.carpenter
Oops, posted in the wrong section, sorry

• Noah
  • Give code definitions with numbers!
More
4 years 6 months ago #34451 by Noah
Moved it for you, no worries.

Man, sounds like my shop, lol.

Like it or not, diag isn't gravy work. It's hard to charge for and can be hard to profit from, at least from a shop owners stand point.
I would say to make friends. Talk to other shops, used car dealers etc., offer diag service. Nail down a couple problem cars here and there and word will travel. Then you won't have to sacrifice the stability you have and you'll be able to apply your skills to make money for yourself and establish a reputation.
Then, who knows? Maybe an offer will present itself that might make it worth while to jump ship.

"Ground cannot be checked with a 10mm socket"
The following user(s) said Thank You: Andy.MacFadyen

More
4 years 5 months ago #34470 by Andy.MacFadyen